You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.

Recently ‘The Playford Trust’ held its annual awards night, recognising 46 high-achieving South Australian students working in areas of strategic importance to the State.  The Playford Trust Awards are the premier awards for tertiary students from across major universities and TAFE.  Students were recognised for their achievements in focus areas such as:

  • Advanced manufacturing and new technologies
  • Agriculture, aquaculture and food production
  • Environmental sciences, including water, energy and climate change
  • Health sciences and establishing technologies
  • Mining and resource development

Incredibly, of the 46 recipients, three were Investigator College Old Collegians. Many of these scholarships come with internships and/or industry placements and the students have some incredible opportunities and career pathways through these awards and their hard work.  Congratulations to:

Jake Rowland (Class of 2018) Bachelor of Science (Honours) [Geology] , University of Adelaide– the recipient of the AusIMM (Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy) / Playford Trust Minerals Industry Scholarship

Joshua Grist (College Captain, Class of 2017) Bachelor of Science (Advanced) [Honours] [Genetics and Ecology] University of Adelaide – the recipient of the Coopers Brewery / Playford Trust Honours Scholarship

McKale O’Flaherty (Class of 2019) Bachelor of Engineering [Honours] [Chemical] [Renewable Energy] University of Adelaide – the recipient of the Nyrstar / Playford Trust Scholarship

It was a true privilege to be able to share the evening with the students and their families and enjoy the opportunity to catch up with them and hear about their plans for the future.  Additional pleasing is that Investigator maintains a close and ongoing relationship with all of its graduates, including these three Award winners.  As one of them told me, ”I owe my success to Investigator College, especially the incredible Senior School teachers!”

Categorised in: